Home  |  About the CFA  |  CFA Regions  | International Forestry Review  |  CFA Newsletter | Youth

  Other publications   Join the CFA  |  Forestry news  |   Jobs/funding  |  Members only |  Contact us

About the CFA

Objectives | How we operate

  Objectives

The Commonwealth Forestry Association (CFA) is the world's longest established international forestry association, tracing its history back to 1921. Today it unites foresters, scientists, students, NGOs and policy makers throughout the world in a unique international network that provides professional support to its members and forms a key element of civil society.

The CFA is a registered UK charity: Charity Registration No: CC250739

1.    Mission statement

To promote the conservation and sustainable management of the world's forests and the contribution they make to peoplesí livelihoods

The mission of the CFA supports the Millennium Development Goals, in particular relating to the eradication of extreme poverty and hunger through the contribution of forests to livelihoods, and to the fundamental role that forests play in environmental stability.

3.     Outputs

To achieve the above purpose and mission, the CFA will provide the following services:

  • Dissemination of information to members, policy makers and the public

  • Education and training of members

  • Facilitation of national capacity building

  • Recognition of excellence in the field of forestry.

  • Encouragement of interaction amongst members.

  • Representation at international meetings

2.     Purpose

The purpose of the Commonwealth Forestry Association (CFA) is to support the professional development of those working with trees and forests.

Back to Top
 How we operate

 

The CFA is managed on behalf of the membership by the Governing Council, which is composed of representatives from all countries who have members.  It is run on a day-to-day basis by a small UK-based Secretariat consisting of the Chair, Vice-Chair, Technical Director, Membership Manager and Finance Manager.  The Secretariat is advised by committees for Finance and General Purposes, and Publications.   The Governing Council appoints one member from each region, the Regional Coordinators, to work closely with the Secretariat in the Executive Committee to implement the plans of the CFA in accordance with the overall objectives.

Management structure of the CFA (for more detail click here)

Back to Top


Secretariat

President :

Chair :

Vice-Chair :

Technical Director :

Treasurer :

Jim Ball

John Innes

Reem Hajjar

Alan Pottinger

Marcus Robbins

jbball1@yahoo.co.uk

john.innes@ubc.ca

reem.hajjar@gmail.com

alan.pottinger@cfa-international.org

marcus.robbins@virgin.net

Back to Top

Regional Coordinators

(click here to visit the Regional Coordinators web page)

Europe :

Africa :

South Asia :

South East Asia and Pacific : Americas and Caribbean :

Adrian Whiteman

Ben Chikamai

R.V. Singh

Michael Bleby

Shashi Kant

UK

Kenya

India

Australia

Canada

Adrian.Whiteman@fao.org

benchikamai@ngara.org

ranvir@nde.vsnl.net.in

forests@bigpond.com

shashi.kant@utoronto.ca

Back to Top

Governing Council

Name

Country

Elected

Email

Babweteera, Fred

UGANDA

2010

bfp@africaonline.co.ug

Chisanga, Eric

ZAMBIA

2010

eric.chisanga@cbu.ac.zm

Headley, Marilyn

JAMAICA

2010

mheadley@forestry.gov.jm

Hudson, John

ENGLAND

2010

j-hudson@dfid.gov.uk

Latham, Peter

ENGLAND

2010

peter@lathams.co.uk

Thang Hooi Chiew

MALAYSIA

2010

hcthang@streamyx.com

 

 

 

Bartlett, Tony

AUSTRALIA

2009

Tony.Bartlett@affa.gov.au

Berg, Peter 

NZ

2009

P.Berg@pentarch.biz

Bojang, Foday

GAMBIA

2009

Foday.Bojang@fao.org

Bulkan, Janette 

GUYANA

2009

janette.bulkan@yale.edu

Chagala, Ebby 

KENYA

2009

chagalaodera@yahoo.com

Foli, Ernest

GHANA

2009

efoli@hotmail.com

Hockley, Tom

SRI LANKA

2009

thomashockley@gmail.com

Islam, Mozaharul 

BANGLADESH

2009

islammm@khulna.bangla.net

Pushparaja, Murugesu

SRI LANKA/CANADA

2009

murugesu_pushparajah@yahoo.co.uk

Owadally, Wahab

MAURITIUS

2009

awo@intnet.mu

 

 

 

Bills, David

AUSTRALIA

2008

bills.mic48@dialix.com.au

El-Lakany, Hosny

CANADA

2008

hosnylakany@yahoo.com

Heino, Jan

FAO

2008

Jan.Heino@fao.org

Sahibzada Irfanullah Khan

PAKISTAN

2008

irfan29_73@yahoo.com

Back to Top

CFA Youth Officer
Celia Nalwadda

2008

jtcelia@yahoo.co.uk

 

Back to Top

CFA-International Forestry Students Association (IFSA) link
Eva Ortvald Erichsen

2010

eva.ifsa@gmail.com

 

Back to Top

Executive Committee

CFA Regional Coordinators

CFA Youth Officer

CFA IFSA Link

CFA Chair

CFA Vice-Chair

CFA Technical Director

See above for email addresses

Back to Top

 

Vice-Presidents**

David Bills

Roger Bradley

John Brazier

Jeff Burley

Julian Evans

Christopher Latham

Jag Maini

Bob Newman

Duncan Poore

Peter Wood

** All CFA Vice-Presidents are members of the Governing Council

Back to Top

 
Trustees
Jim Ball

Julian Evans

Marcus Robbins

Peter Wood

jim.ball@cfa-international.org

julianevans1@compuserve.com

marcus.robbins@cfa-international.org

p-swood@tiscali.co.uk

Back to Top

 

Honorary Fellows

Bob Newman

Shyam Sunder

Christopher Latham

Peter Wood
Jagmohan Maini

Nell Payne (neť Baker)

Back to Top


 
The Commonwealth Forestry Association gratefully acknowledges the support provided by The Commonwealth Foundation.

Back to Top

Copyright © CFA 2002 | Terms and Conditions